Archive

Posts Tagged ‘reviews’

I am officially stepping down as the Arrow in the Head theatrical/new-releases reviewer!

February 4th, 2017 No comments

I founded Arrow in the Head in the year 2000 (this was my first review…lol), alongside my hombre JoBlo aka Berge Garabedian (thanks again for the opportunity man), when I was a young horror-loving punk and when the internet was still the Wild West. I did everything myself on the site till about 2005 when it got so big that we had to hire a staff to back me up. Up until now, I was the main “reviewer” on the site. On that, I did miss a lot of horror films last year for varied reasons, which brings me to this article: after 16 years, I am stepping down as the main theatrical/new-releases reviewer for AITH.

Although I do have mix feelings about it (it will be kind of odd and maybe refreshing to see new flicks and not HAVE TO write about them afterwards) I decided that this was the right time to do it. Throughout the years, I have balanced working on the site while pursuing my cinematic aspirations (I have been screenwriting or/and acting in films like 100 FEET, DEAD SHADOWS or AMERICAN MUSCLE). But it’s having directed my first feature THE SHELTER (coming to Redbox on February 7 BTW), which prompted me to call it a day.  I completely fell in love with the process, it invigorated me, and am now focusing my energies further on that career path. And to be honest with ya, since last year, reviewing new releases, just didn’t feel “right” anymore. When it doesn’t feel right – it’s time to call it quits.


With Derek Mears (Jason Voorhees), Nick Principe (Chromeskull) and R.A. Mihailoff (Leatherface)! 

On that, I will always be on the site behind the scenes, and in the name of keeping my voice on it, I have decided to still give out my two cents and chump change on the occasional old movie (like I recently did here). Why? To educate younger readers about cinema and maybe bring attention to fine films that some of you may have overlooked. I also may start a column down the road, I have a nifty idea (yes, it is nifty), we’ll see. And of course, when I get my next feature off the ground (I got 5 that are being looked at right now, one will set-up sooner or later), AITH will be ground zero for me to share my (mis) adventures in filmmaking.

In closing, I would like to thank all of you who have supported my ramblings on AITH for all them years – I’ve felt lots of love over time and enjoyed interacting with many of you, debating what we all worship: GENRE CINEMA.  I also want to thank the haters who were key in my evolution too, as they taught me how to handle fair/harsh/unfair criticism. A key trait to have in this biz. Ya know, I still get the random e-mail from folks saying that they “grew up with me”, or “went into the film biz because of me” or that they fell in love with horror because of my keyboard drivel. Shit, I’ve even had high profile filmmakers re-cut their films after reading my early Fest reviews. Kind of nuts when I stop and think about it. So yeah, I think in terms of this field – one that I undertook by accident (creating/running a site and reviewing films were never goals of mine, they just happened) – you can’t get any better than that. Now time to conquer other mountains! Thanks again for all the support and the positive energy over the years. Back at ya mofos and mofettes!


YOU CAN KEEP TABS ON ME ON TWITTER, INSTAGRAM and on FACEBOOK

facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinteresttumblrby feather

Vengeance Road reviews aka American Muscle in the UK!

December 23rd, 2015 No comments

vengeanceroadreview

Early this year AMERICAN  MUSCLE was released in the UK on disk under the title VENGEANCE ROAD. Being that THE SHELTER has been consuming the bulk of my life, I totally forgot to keep tabs on the UK reviews of the flick. So here are four reviews that I found below! This is probably the last time that I will I post about American Muscle aka Vengeance Road, so I will end with this: I am and will always be very proud of the film. It so didn’t get the attention that it deserved from the festival circuit IMO (it was an ideal drunken Midnight audience movie) but I do find comfort in the fact that it has been gaining a sturdy cult following.

PS: I do have one more vigilante film in me, this time with a female protagonist. I already have a basic story line mapped out. Yes I kind of like the idea of leaving a”revenge” trilogy behind; screenplay wise anyways: Deaden, American Muscle and this  next one. To be continued on that! :)

Letterboxd.com:
“What better way to end this span of enforced detox than with the latest from the pen of John Fallon. VENGEANCE ROAD is a brisk uber-violent piece of glorious neo-Grindhouse”!

Brutal as Hell:
“Vengeance Road does what so few neo-grindhouse movies manage: it delivers all the old school sleaze you hope to see, but doesn’t neglect to tell a well-rounded story in an intelligent way.”

Films and Swearing (very funny review):
“Easily one of the most straight forward and most metal indy films I’ve seen!”

Horror Cult Films:
“VENGEANCE ROAD is every bit as brilliant as you’d want it to be with an anti-hero to really get behind.

ZH-001-339x480
GET THE UK DVD HERE!

 

facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinteresttumblrby feather

The Shelter world premiere at Film4 Frightfest! Personal recap!

September 2nd, 2015 No comments
unnamed888

Ready and able to dodge tomatoes!

Hey all! So executive producer Berge Garabedian and I are back from THE SHELTER world premiere at FILM4 FRIGHTFEST in London England. I’m a bit sick, jet lagged and I probably gained 5 pounds by way of all them pints of Trooper Ale I guzzled (back in the Gym tomorrow), but I am happy!

The screening went well from my POV. Granted not everybody will like what you create, especially when it’s something that is in some ways “non-traditional” like The Shelter, and that is fine. On that, I found it very rewarding to hear from the people who did esteem it, those who were moved by it and got something out of it. That has been my favorite part of this process thus far. Moreover, the reviews that came out of the Fest (below) were positive for the most part.  I’m anticipating more reviews/interviews to surface in the following week. I’ll of course keep you all in the loop!

11923222_10153456715106413_7050098652839818698_n

Thanks for the support goombah! None of this would have happened without you.

In closing, I want to say a big thank you to the Film4 Frightfest team ( Alan Jones, Greg Day, Ian Rattray, Paul McEvoy) for having us and the film. We had lots of fun and I was happy to learn first hand WHY Frightfest is considered to be one of the best genre Film Festivals in the world! And of course a huge thank you to the people who showed up at the screening!  I also saw old friends on this trip and made many new ones. In short,  I’m feeling blessed like a mothertrucker today! – All love baby! All love.

You can expect more THE SHELTER news shortly. I am hoping that the Frightfest showing will act as the beginning of a new chapter for the movie. This has been and still is a long and hard f*cking road. I’m learning a lot as I forge forward (like just how much longer of a journey getting an Indie film from point A to point Z truly is). All good though. Onward and forward!

shelter-ogoFOR THE SHELTER DISTRIBUTION INQUIRIES, E-MAIL OUR SALES AGENT HERE!

SCIFINOW: “The Shelter swirls Christianity and Silent Hill-levels of guilt to torment its protagonist, and Fallon’s strong visual style combines with a very strong turn from Pare to good effect. There’s a confidence to Fallon’s choices too, as he gives us a not particularly likeable protagonist and maintains a sombre tone throughout this emotionally raw journey.” – READ THE WHOLE REVIEW HERE

STARBURST MAGAZINE: “For all its anger and impressive visuals, The Shelter is a meditative piece about moving from confusion to the acceptance of something perhaps cannot be fully understood. Fallon’s piece is piercing as a disconcerting family dreamscape.” – READ THE WHOLE REVIEW HERE

MOVIERAMBLINGS.COM: “Director John Fallon keeps the audience on their toes, as well as off balance, with a series of scenes that practically force the viewer to pay attention. From what appears a simple opening the film opens up into musings on life, love, loss, suffering and redemption.” – READ THE WHOLE REVIEW HERE

THE HOLLYWOOD NEWS:The Shelter is the directorial debut of John Fallon who, up until now, has had a steady career as an actor and writer. His first venture running things highlights a lot of visual flair and a head full of ideas. A tale of one man’s existential plight, the horrors within The Shelter aren’t your usual jump scares or buckets of blood. Imagine being trapped, watching a movie of all your greatest mistakes with no way to turn it off, that’s way more horrifying than anything Carpenter could dream up. ” – READ THE WHOLE REVIEW HERE

NERDLY: “The Shelter is at its core a one-man production, with Michael Paré carrying the film entirely on his shoulders and often without saying so much as a word – often backed only by atmospheric visuals and a strong, sullen, score. And Paré revels in it, easily giving his best performance since the actors early 80s heyday.” -READ THE WHOLE REVIEW HERE

BRITFLICKS: “It’s an uncomfortable watch as real become unreal! THE SHELTER broods on the edges of hope, but like all falls from grace, rock bottom is as high as Thomas will ever get and this story rubs him into the dirt like a discarded cigarette.” – READ THE WHOLE REVIEW HERE

—————————-

AINT IT COOL NEWS: ” Writer/director John Fallon conveys this theme of loss and regret clearly and expertly. Sure, that makes for the exact opposite of the feel good movie of the year, but it does make for a pretty fantastic character study of a man who has crumbled to almost nothing.Pare really gives it his all here, plunging to emotional depths I never thought he was able to do and doing them with a real sense of soul. – READ THE WHOLE REVIEW HERE!

FROMDUSKTILLCON: “The Shelter is a beautifully crafted movie that every horror fan should see. It’s clearly a love letter to the genre.  If you love movies that don’t spell everything out for you and leaves it up for debate and discussion, then this is the movie for you.  I personally can’t give it high enough praise for accomplishing what it did.  You owe it to yourself to check it out ! – READ THE WHOLE REVIEW HERE!

 

DREAD CENTRAL: “Paré, doing most of his acting alone and in relative silence, is a standout. He’s got to carry this whole film on his shoulders, and he does it ably. It’s Paré’s parade, lock and stock.   Overall The Shelter is enjoyable, well made and ably acted. It is definitely worth a look for fans of psychological slow burns.” – READ THE WHOLE REVIEW HERE

 

SUPERMARCEY: “THE SHELTER is one of those special indie films that comes along out of the blue and completely floors you. Since watching this film, I haven’t stopped thinking about it and its deeper meanings. You know you have seen something special when it leaves you shaking and wanting more. A fine film, that fit me like a glove. - READ THE WHOLE REVIEW HERE

 

bannerFOR THE SHELTER DISTRIBUTION INQUIRIES, E-MAIL OUR SALES AGENT HERE!

facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinteresttumblrby feather

American Muscle Japanese poster, trailer and theatrical release!

December 16th, 2014 No comments

am-muscle-trailer-japan

Ravi Dahr’s AMERICAN MUSCLE (film I wrote and co-star in) just got a cool Japanese poster and  a re-cut “hardcore” trailer (both below) and will come out on the big screen in Japan on January 27th 2015 via Klockworx!  So if you’re a Japanese fan, ENJOY! North Americans can get the BLU-RAY and DVD or watch it on INSTANT VIDEO. The film tells the heart-warming tale of:

John Falcon (Nick Principe) is a bad, bad man. But he didn’t deserve to go to prison. Now, after 10 years of hard time, he’s hell-bent on revenge. Screaming across the scarred landscape of the Yucca Valley, Falcon’s got 24 hours to inflict brutal vengeance on everyone he holds responsible for putting him away. Including his own brother.

AMERICAN MUSCLE stars Nick Principe, Todd Farmer, Robin Sydney, George P. Wilbur, Jennifer Wenger and Trent Haaga. It was produced by Snowfort Pictures and Automatic Entertainment.

american_muscle_theater

 

facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinteresttumblrby feather

American Muscle reviews!

November 23rd, 2014 No comments

spotlight-780x347_92

With Ravi Dhar’s AMERICAN MUSCLE now out on disk reviews are hitting the web. Some good, some bad, some downright offended by the film (which always makes me smile, good, get offended, this overtly PC world bores me)! Here are some of them! AMERICAN MUSCLE stars Nick Principe, Todd Farmer, Robin Sydney, George P. Wilbur, Jennifer Wenger, Trent Haaga and my sorry ass.  It was produced by Snowfort Pictures and Automatic Entertainment. It was directed/shot by  Ravi Dhar and written by yours truly.

Twitch: “Smashing, bloody, rude, and often nude, American Muscle captures the rowdy spirit of 70s exploitation movies and transfers it wholesale to the present day, while also instilling a dose of rueful, personal nostalgia. Make no mistake, American Muscle is first and foremost a movie about an incredibly uber-macho, extremely violent criminal — c’mon, he’s named John Falcon! — and the blood he sheds without remorse in his quest for vengeance.”- read the whole review here!

Supermarcey.com: “There is something emotionally hard hitting, in a film filled with serviceable violence and frantic fucking, about a story of a man who is “living with a memory” who finds himself unable to deal with the way things really are. It won’t be everyone’s bag of tea, but if you watch a movie like this it’s because you want what this film definitely delivers, and it does an admirable job in offering up something a bit more in my opinion. ” -read the whole review here!

Moviemet: “This is a film that delves head first into male fantasy and never bothers to come up for air.  Within minutes of the film starting, Falcon gets out of jail and starts hitchhiking, only to be picked up by a nice-looking lady. After the briefest of small talk they have sex in her car on the side of the highway in broad daylight.  In fact, for the remainder of the film, every girl he comes across ogles him with lust in their eyes. ” – Read the whole review here!

FALLON NOTE: I was actually inspired by the Bond movie Octopussy in terms of that angle. All Bond had to do was “show up” and boom women wanted him or/and he’d get laid. I thought it would be funny to do that with our hero Falcon. Alas, not many people got the joke and took it seriously.

Dienachtderlebendentexte (German): “Action // tits. Violence. Coolness. Brawls. Hail of bullets. Sex. Death. Machismo. Dust. Headshots. Asses. Testosterone. Blood. Muscle Cars. Retribution. Feminism. No – that last point was a joke. Replace it with more head shots!” – Read the whole review here!

After Movie Diner: “You can tell when a film is trying too hard because it keeps winking at the audience to get validation that everything they are doing, while gross, is all fine and in the spirit of the thing, whereas American Muscle doesn’t bother with that for one second. It simply doesn’t give a shit what you think. It sets up its situation and plays it out to its logical, tragic and gruesome conclusion.”-read the whole review here

DVD Verdict: “I understand that screenwriter John Fallon set out to write a very specific kind of movie—one in which the men are tough and the women are sexy and everyone leads a violent life. But because it’s all so calculated, there’s something ugly about it. Every single female character in the movie exists to throw themselves at some man (usually Principe, who beds three of the four women in the movie—two of them immediately upon meeting them) with sex that feels angry towards women. The one major female character in the film is a double-crossing thief, murderer in drug addict who lies around in nearly nothing and has sex with every single person near hear, man or woman. I recognize that these movies aren’t meant to be watched politically, but there’s just something repellent about a movie that’s this misogynist—even a deliberate genre exploitation movie. It reminded me of Larry Bishop’s Hell Ride from a few years ago, a movie that managed to be bad in a lot of the same ways as American Muscle. I can handle a movie that’s ugly and nasty and has a dark worldview, but it’s 2014, guys. Let’s try to do better.” – read the whole review here

FALLON NOTE: Everybody is scum in American Muscle, men and woman. The lead male character is a bigger whore than every woman in the film.  My intent was to write a trashy, smutty and nihilistic flick, that’s it, that’s all.

Cinema Masculin: ” Dès le départ, j’ai voulu aimer le long-métrage, qui s’inspire du cinéma d’exploitation des années 70/80, un genre qui est encore utilisé aujourd’hui par plusieurs réalisateurs comme Quentin Tarantino (Plup Fiction). Étant fan de ce genre, il me faut admettre qu’American Muscle remplit bien son rôle à ce titre. À l’exception de quelques éléments technologiques, le scénario aurait pu situer l’action en 1971 sans problèmes. L’histoire est condensée, avec beaucoup de flashbacks permettant au spectateur de souffler un peu pendant le film, qui durent à peine 75 minutes.”-Read the whole review here

TrainmansReviews: “Danny Trejo says, “A movie needs 3 things, Blood, Bullets and Boobs” and this film has plenty of all three. A tale of a bad guy going after some even worse bad guys. That simple!” - Read the whole review here

Movie City News:  Too often, revenge movies get caught up in sentimentality, a protagonist’s pursuit of redemption or the sapping of strength that comes with finding love at a most inconvenient time. They sometimes get tripped up, as well, by making the kind of factual mistakes that are caused by cutting corners and distract viewers from the narrative flow. Ravi Dahr’s unrelenting American Muscle wastes no time whatsoever getting to the point and staying there for its entire 90-minute length. The movie opens with a flashback to a violent crime that occurred 10 years earlier, then quickly takes us inside a prison where, presumably, one of the participants is about to be released. As played by veteran hard guy Nick Principe, John Falcon resembles a walking tattoo parlor. His muscular frame attests to a decade spent in the prison yard lifting weights and consuming steroids smuggled into the facility with marijuana, heroin and cellphones by guards and guests. It doesn’t take long to realize that Falcon is a man on a violent mission. After catching a ride with a woman who happily quenches all 10 years’ worth of his sublimated lust, Falcon is asked if he’d like to have her phone number. No, he replies, “I’ll probably be dead in 24 hours.”

Indeed, every hour of the next 24 is spent tracking down his brother, who betrayed him, and the wife he left behind when he was captured and went to prison. Falcon’s also vowed to kill the other gang members who avoided arrest and split up his spoils. He wastes no time doing just that. Writer John Fallon adds several more expository flashbacks and a few scenes in which crank whores are required to go topless, but, again, they don’t impede the forward trajectory of the story or keep Falcon from a final reunion with his brother. I’m usually not overly impressed by revenge pictures, especially those so obviously made on a limited budget.American Muscle managed to hold my interest, however, despite a deluge of wholly gratuitous bloodshed. (Gratuitous nudity is something else entirely.) It helps greatly that Dahr took advantage of the beauty and desolation of the desert near 29 Palms. Nothing says “meth labs” and “psycho-bikers” quite as eloquently as a drive through the giant “wind farms” outside Palm Springs.

YesWeekly: AMERICAN MUSCLE (Well Go USA Entertainment): Director/editor/cinematographer/music supervisor Ravi Dhar’s debut feature is a familiar revenge melodrama that sees ex-con Nick Principe embarking on a 24-hour rampage against those who wronged him, especially brother Todd Farmer. It’s familiar but fast-moving and full of gratuitous nudity and CGI violence. Co-star John Fallon is also scripted. – Read the whole review here

The Action Elite“American Muscle is essentially the ultimate male fantasy movie with fast cars, naked women and exploding heads. As long as you don’t go in looking for anything too deep then you might just have a blast. Really all you need to do is bring the beer.” - Read the whole review here.

Docteur No Review: “It’s raining blood, neurons and enough seminal fluids to fill the lungs … a fucking guilty pleasure! It’s like Tarantino on crack!”

Ravi Dhar nous plonge dans le nawak létal… AMERICAN MUSCLE est une divine agonie Z… Un torrent, à la fois décérébré et romantique, de nichons fatigués, de tatouages délirants, de gunfights vénères, de fratricides trisomiques et d’amour impossible… Comme une version sous crack de Tarantino

Un gros dur à moustache taciturne qui se prend pour Clint Eastwood (alors qu’il ressemble plutôt à un membre des Village People en tournée) sort de taule après 10 ans d’enfer… Il va se lancer dans une vendetta aussi et sanguinaire que grindhouse… Et accessoirement dans un remake mou du révolutionnaire POINT DE NON RETOUR à John Boorman. Mais version crade et vulgaire… Über vulgaire. Comme si la culture white trash (vivent les gros guns, les gros nichons, les grosses guitares assourdissantes et les grosses doses de crystal meth) se métamorphosait en parangon de subversion!

Et ben… En poussant tous les curseurs de la bienséance au delà des limites de l’entendement humain, l’inconnu Ravi Dhar nous plonge dans le nawak létal… AMERICAN MUSCLE est une divine agonie Z… Un torrent, à la fois décérébré et romantique, de nichons fatigués, de tatouages délirants, de gunfights vénères, de fratricides trisomiques et d’amour impossible… Comme une version sous crack de Tarantino (coucou KILL BILL 2). Et Ravi Dhar filme cette folie avec une sérieux et un minimalisme enthousiasmant. Résultat, on s’attache à ce héros vengeur et à ses aventures sanguinolentes… Il pleut du sang, des neurones et du liquide séminal à s’en remplir les poumons… Un putain de plaisir coupable. Ça c’est de la série B, bien plus noire qu’elle en a l’air, qui envoie les bichons! Et vive l’amour… Ça fait faire que des conneries! Notamment des séries z dérérébrées…

facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinteresttumblrby feather

American Muscle gets out of the pen today on DVD and Blu-Ray!

September 30th, 2014 No comments
teaserbox_21062888

Falcon is out and ready to cash in!

Ravi Dahr’s AMERICAN MUSCLE is finally unleashed today on BLU-RAY and DVD in all of its unrated glory! You can also watch it on INSTANT VIDEO. The film tells the heart-warming tale of:

John Falcon (Nick Principe) is a bad, bad man. But he didn’t deserve to go to prison. Now, after 10 years of hard time, he’s hell-bent on revenge. Screaming across the scarred landscape of the Yucca Valley, Falcon’s got 24 hours to inflict brutal vengeance on everyone he holds responsible for putting him away. Including his own brother.

In my opinion Director and DP RAVI DHAR gave the material a fresh spin via his stylized visuals.While I was on set all I kept thinking was this is gonna look like a Cannon film meets David Lynch meets Mad Max. And upon seeing the end result; yup, I was pretty much right.

americanmuscle-thumb-630xau

Like I’ve said before, this was one of the most enjoyable shoots I’ve ever been on, one of the most collaborative and is definitely the most memorable.  I am proud of all that we accomplished and of the film itself. Some will dig it, some won’t, just how it goes. My advice; crack open a beer and just have fun. It’s that kind of movie! Brutal, smutty and trashy with an artsy streak.

AMERICAN MUSCLE stars Nick Principe, Todd Farmer , Robin Sydney, George P. Wilbur, Jennifer Wenger, Trent Haaga and I play mute badass Tongues in it.  It was produced by Snowfort Pictures and Automatic Entertainment. It was  written by yours truly.

12769

muscle-dvd

facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinteresttumblrby feather

Dead Shadows reviews start pouring in!

April 21st, 2014 No comments


Eight days till DEAD SHADOWS hits North American shelves via SCREAM FACTORY. The reviews have started pouring in and here are a handful of them. Obviously, I am focusing on the positive ones, I got enough negative joo-joo in my life, no need for me to dwell on the bad vibes. Here ya go!

DAILY DEAD: Definitely more of a Snake Plissken type right from the get-go is Chris’ gruff neighbor John. Played pitch-perfect by Arrow in the Head’s John Fallon, John is the type of guy who voluntarily takes the role of neighborhood protector with his own brand of badass belligerence. When he defends Chris from a group of thugs early on in the film, he tells them they’re out of luck because, “First, there’s only four of you…” Suffice it to say that John’s a fun character to watch, especially when he’s taking on tentacle-waving creatures in do-or-die street brawls. READ REVIEW HERE

POP MATTERS: There are some good performances, notably Blandine Marmigère as Claire, the hot neighbor who teams up with John both before and after the apocalypse begins in earnest, as well as John Fallon as John, a local thug neighbor who provides the anxiety-prone Chris with some much-needed muscle in facing down the evening’s monsters. Then again, the monsters might be the least of John’s worries. READ REVIEW HERE

HORROR 101: Arrow in the Head honcho John Fallon stars as the lad’s uber-badass neighbor, and if you didn’t love him enough already for his well-informed and nimble wordplay, his supercool presence here proves the man is a multitalented emmereffer. READ REVIEW HERE

DVD TALK: Only a few things really stand in the way of Dead Shadows being an instant cult classic. John Fallon is outstanding but kind of underutilized. I honestly would’ve loved to have seen Dead Shadows be a little longer to give Fallon’s ass-kicker another showcase sequence or two. There’s basically nothing in the way of Bruce Campbell’s flavor of endlessly quotable dialogue, and the attempts at upending one genre convention in particular (sorry, trying to keep it spoiler-free here) winds up kind of uneven. READ REVIEW HERE

THE EXAMINER: Dead Shadows” is one of those great “straight-and-to-the-point” movies. It doesn’t take thirty minutes of your valuable time gearing up and going through the motions. It establishes characters quickly and gets to the meat, potatoes, and gore. READ REVIEW HERE

HORRORNEWS: I have to call em like I see em…..this film is a really good find for Shout Factory to bring to the masses. If you only watch it for the creatures, you’ll still find satisfaction, however I simply found myself a fan of this oddity. READ REVIEW HERE

CINEMA CRAZED: One of the highlights of the film is John Fallon who plays an aggressive neighbor who not only senses the alien invasion beforehand, but is prepared to go to war when the shit hits the fan. Fallon really fits the character well, and I was disappointed he didn’t garner much more screen time. Director Cholewa is also a fantastic director, creating a real menace to the city of Paris, especially when the invasion begins. READ REVIEW HERE

ALIEN BEE: Dead Shadows is the best movie of its kind I’ve seen in a long, long time! This sci-fi thriller is a mixture of Lovecraft, Godzilla, Night of the Comet blended with a doomsday/apocalyptic element. This Blu-ray releases on April 29th and is definitely one you’ll want to check out. An instant cult classic! READ REVIEW HERE

HORROR TALK: Fabian Wolfrom does a fine job as Chris, our reluctant hero with a fear of the dark and an unfortunate habit of blacking out in strange bathrooms. The highlight of his performance comes during the party scene as he is forced to react to an increasingly dangerous and bizarre set of surroundings. There are a few inconsistencies in his behavior, but that is likely the fault of the writing and not his performance. John Fallon (100 Feet) and Blandine Marmigère as John and Claire are fine in their supporting roles, but they both disappear for long stretches of time before showing up conveniently whenever Wolfrom needs them. READ REVIEW HERE

I’ll be adding more reviews to this blog entry as they keep pouring in.

facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinteresttumblrby feather

Two new Dead Shadows reviews hit the web!

April 29th, 2013 No comments

Two positive David Cholewa’s DEAD SHADOWS  reviews surfaced recently! Check them out below!

The first is in Greek from Horrorrant.com:
“Wolfrom steals hearts and has a brilliant career in front of him, and experienced action man Fallon gives us something extra, although it could have a bigger role. Dead Shadows is a low budget film that looks like a Hollywood production!”

The second is from the UK site Geek Chocolate:
“Conversely, John Fallon despite his extensive experience, is asked to do little beyond demonstrate his affinity for a variety of weapons, at which he is remarkably adept.”

Dead Shadows will be released shortly in North America via Shout! Factory.

facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinteresttumblrby feather

Two more Dead Shadows reviews!

October 25th, 2012 No comments

The popular horror website Dread Central and fan fav Super Marcey’s Super Website recently reviewed David Cholewa’s DEAD SHADOWS and here are some excerpts:

Dread Central : And there’s the key word for Dead Shadows…fun. This movie is an absolute blast for its entire 70-minute run. It’s sci-fi, it’s horror, it has aliens and zombie-like creatures with tons of action and stunts. The fight scenes are great, the sex scene is incredibly memorable and the F/X work is very effective. The filmmakers blend slickly created CGI with practical effects, making a nightmarish landscape of terrors. And the weapons…you name it, you’ve got it. Guns, swords, baseball bats, I even saw a tank go rolling through one scene. All this eye candy adds up to a great time for the viewer.

Read the whole review here:

Super Marcey’s Super Website: Fabian Wolfrom was a solid lead, and he pulled off everything rather well. John Fallon for me stole the show, he was charismatic, witty and a badass cool cat – he’s the one you’d want on your ‘Survive The Apocalypse’ team. The script I thought was very sharp, and the build up was spot on. It really is very well rounded, and my only gripe is I wished it were a tad longer. I was so engaged with the film that I actually didn’t want it to end.

Read the whole review here:

facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinteresttumblrby feather